Faculty Directory

 

 

Kimberly Buhman
Associate Professor

Intestinal Lipid Metabolism, Nutritional Biochemistry and Physiology, Heart Disease, Obesity.

Office: STON 209
Lab: STON G34
765-496-6872
kbuhman@purdue.edu

  John (Jay) Burgess
Associate Professor

Oxidative stress adaption, phytochemical antioxidants, oxidative stress and essential fatty acids in behavioral disorders, role of antioxidants in mitigating the complications of diabetes.
Office: STON G1F
Lab: STON G46
765-494-8239
burgesjr@purdue.edu
Wayne Campbell
Professor

Human nutrition and exercise studies of macronutrient metabolism, protein and energy requirements, appetite, body composition, obesity and weight loss, muscle strength, and muscle function, with special emphasis on aging.

 

Office: STON 203
Lab: MTHW 310
765-494-8236
campbellw@purdue.edu

 

James (Jim) Daniel
Associate Professor

Carbohydrates, non cariogenic sweeteners, food gums, and fat substitutes.
Office: STON G1H
Lab: STON G52
765-494-8247
danieljr@purdue.edu
Mridul Datta
Assistant Professor and Director, Coordinated Program in Dietetics

Nutrition and cancer with focus on inflammation, quality of life, and bone health; dietary supplements and dietary bioactive components.

 

Office: STON 202
765-496-0143
datta7@purdue.edu

 

Heather Eicher-Miller
Assistant Professor

Food insecurity and low-resource populations, community based research, nutrition education, nutritional epidemiology, dietary patterns, and public health.

Office:  STON G-2
765-494-6815
heicherm@purdue.edu
Jessica Ellis-Wilcox
Assistant Professor

 

Office: STON 206
765-494-0142
jmellis@purdue.edu

 

Mario Ferruzzi
Professor

Chemistry of food pigments and flavonoids with focus on quantitative and qualitative phytochemical profiling, bioavailability, biological activity and incorporation into food systems.
Office:  NLSN 3233
Lab: NLSN
765-494-0625
mferruzz@purdue.edu
  James Fleet
Distinguished Professor

Molecular mechanisms of vitamin D action through the vitamin D receptor; intestinal calcium absorption; vitamin D and calcium metabolism; vitam D and cancer chemoprevention; regulation of gene expression; genetic regulation of mineral metabolism.
Office: STON G1B
Lab: STON G25
765-494-0302
fleet@purdue.edu
Nana Gletsu Miller
Assistant Professor

Diseases associated with obesity and outcomes following weight loss; strategies for optimizing nutritional outcomes following bariatric surgery.
Office: STON 208
Lab: STON B20
765-496-9462
ngletsum@purdue.edu
Ryan Grant
Assistant Professor

Research focusing on how nutrition and metabolism regulate inflammation and chronic metabolic disease such as obesity and type 2 diabetes.

 

Office: STON 201
765-496-0139
rwgrant@purdue.edu

 

henagan

Tara Henagan
Assistant Professor

Macronutrients and exercise, obesity and Type 2 diabetes, mitchondrial adaptation, botanicals, dietary supplements and high fat diets

Office:  STON G1G
Lab: MTHW 303
765-494-4536
thenagan@purdue.edu

Kathleen Hill Gallant
Assistant Professor

Bone and mineral metabolism with a focus on phosphorus metabolism in health and chronic kidney disease

Office:  STON 207
Lab:  STON G50
765-494-0101
hillgallant@purdue.edu
Elsa Janle
Associate Research Professor

Nutritional and phytochemical effects on diabetes and Alzheimer's Disease.  Interstitial fluid chemistry.
Office: STON G37
765-494-1566
janle@purdue.edu
Qing Jiang
Associate Professor

Nutrition and inflammation-associated diseases; different forms of vitamin E and cancer chemoprevention/chemotherapy; vitamin E forms, botanical antioxidants and asthma.
Office:  STON G1A
Lab: STON B25
765-494-2483
qjiang@purdue.edu
Berdine Martin
Research Scientist
Office: STON G41
765-494-6559
bmartin1@purdue.edu
Richard (Rick) Mattes
Distinguished Professor of Nutrition Science

Regulation of food intake in humans; hunger and satiety; dietary preferences and compliance; taste and smell function; human cephalic phase responses.
Office: STON 212
Lab: STON G4
765-494-0662
mattes@purdue.edu
 

Charles Santerre
Professor

Food safety and nutrition related to chemical contaminants in foods.

Office: STON 205
Lab: STON G43
765-496-3443
santerre@purdue.edu
Dennis Savaiano
Virginia C. Meredith Professor of Nutrition Policy

Lactose digestion and intolerance, carbohydrate maldigestion.
Office: STON 204
Lab: STON B6
765-427-7826
savaiano@purdue.edu
Silvia Stan
Assistant Professor

Cancer prevention with diet-derived bioactive compounds; pancreatic and breast cancer chemoprevention.
Office: HANS 135A
Lab: HANS 135
765-496-3847
stand@purdue.edu

Barbara Stefanska
Assistant Professor

Nutritional epigenetics; epigenetic mechanisms of vitamins and polyphenols in cancer prevention, cancer therapy and type 2 diabetes; DNA methylation biomarkers for solid tumors including ovarian, breast and liver cancers.

Office: HANS 109
Lab: HANS 109
765-494-4401
bstefanska@purdue.edu
Jon Story
Professor and Associate Dean of the Graduate School

Nutritional regulation of cholesterol metabolism.
Office: STON G1C
Lab: STON G46
765-494-6843
jastory@purdue.edu
Dorothy Teegarden
Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs, College of Health and Human Science

Nutrition and cancer, vitamin D and signal transduction, molecular mechanisms in the progression of cancer, exercise, nutrition and bone health, dietary calcium and body composition, vitamin D regulation of lipid oxidation and insulin resistance.
Office: STON G1E
Lab: STON B26
765-494-8246
teegarden@purdue.edu

Connie Weaver
Distinguished Professor and Head

Bioavailability of minerals; calcium metabolism, exercise, nutrition and bone health, and iron status.

Office: STON 214
Lab: STON G50
765-494-8237
weavercm@purdue.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Regan Bailey
Adjunct Assistant Professor
The overarching goal of her research program is to prevent or lessen the risk of chronic disease through nutrition. Dr. Bailey’s specific research interests include: nutritional epidemiology; one-carbon metabolism, particularly the role of B vitamins; dietary assessment methods and measurement error; dietary patterns; dietary supplements; nutrition screening; and, nutrition and aging, particularly as it relates to reducing the risk of cognitive impairment and osteoporosis. She has considerable expertise working with the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey.

baileyr@mail.nih.gov
Carol J. Boushey
Adjunct Professor
Working as part of a multidisciplinary team at the University of Hawaii to provide support to the member investigators of the Cancer Center as they design and conduct studies that include the collection and analyses of dietary intake variable. 
808-564-5915
boushey@purdue.edu

 

 

 

Meryl Wastney
Adjunct Associate Professor
Kinetic modeling
765-496-3455
mwastney@purdue.edu

 

Courtesy Appointments

D. Randy Black
Courtesy Professor
Obesity/weight management and eating disorders among people with anorexia

765-494-4373
dblack@purdue.edu
Shawn S. Donkin
Courtesy Professor
The cellular and molecular processes controlling liver function in response to nutritional, environmental developmental cues
765-494-4847
sdonkin@purdue.edu
Gerald C. Hyner
Courtesy Professor
Public health and gerontology; health promotion and disease control; computerized health risk appraisal
765-494-3151
hyner@purdue.edu
Kee-Hong Kim
Courtesy Associate Professor
Dietary and biochemical regulation of the development of adipose tissue and its function for prevention of obesity and its related chronic diseases
765-496-2330
keehong@purdue.edu

Sophie A. Lelievre
Courtesy Associate Professor
The role of the organization of the cell nucleus in gene expression and genome stability and the relationship between tissue polarity and nuclear functions, notably epigenetics

765-496-7793
lelievre@purdue.edu
Roseann M. Lyle
Courtesy Professor

Scientific rationale for recommendations for disease prevention and health promotion, nutrition exercise/activity, and health in young women and adults over 50
765-494-3158
rlyle@purdue.edu
Jean-Christophe (Chris) Rochet
Courtesy Associate Professor
Understanding the role of protein aggregation in neurological and muscular disorders
765-494-1413
jrochet@purdue.edu
Darlene Sedlock
Courtesy Associate Professor
Excess post-exercise oxygen consumption, energy balance and weight control, components of daily energy expenditure, physiology of upper-body exercise, exercise in spinal cord injured individuals
765-494-3184
sedlock@purdue.edu

 

Professors Emeriti

 

(Picture Not Available)

Evelyn J. Abel
Professor Emeritus
765-494-8228

(Picture Not Available)

R. Paul Abernathy
Professor Emeritus
765-494-8228

(Picture Not Available)

Marecella Allen
Professor Emeritus
765-494-8228
William (Bill) Evers
Professor Emeritus
765-494-8228
eversb@purdue.edu
Karen S. Jamesen
Professor Emeritus
765-494-8228
jamesenk@purdue.edu
Avanelle Kirksey
Meredith Distinguised Professor Emerita of Foods and Nutrition
765-494-8228

(Picture Not Available)

Dorothy M. Morre
Professor Emeritus
765-494-8228
morredm@purdue.edu
Olivia B. Wood
Professor Emeritus
765-494-8228
woodo@purdue.edu

E-mail Webmaster
Maintained by: Nutrition Science

Department of Nutrition Science, 700 W. State Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907-2059
(765) 494-8228, Fax: (765) 494-0674, E-mail: fandn@purdue.edu
© 2012 Purdue University. An equal access/equal opportunity university.